Sebastian’s frog.

During my time at the clinic/school, I had the immense blessing of meeting a little boy named Sebastian. He has Down syndrome and it’s safe to say he’s a total heart throb. Winning me over from the very first day, he knew just how to work me to get what he wanted.
Every day he would come in with his grandmother, skipping into class with a tiny green frog in his hand. Sebastian never got any work finished when he had his frog, it captured every ounce of his attention.

So profe Elie would take the frog when he came into class and hide it at the tip top of the shelf until the recess bell rang, signaling he could have the frog again.

During my 3 weeks working with Sebastian, he never failed to grab my hand, lead me over to the frog shelf, point, latch onto me, and beg me to lift him up to the frog each day during lessons. I would laugh and carry him back to his seat, and tell him to be patient and then he could have his frog.

It wasn’t until recently that I realized that this is how a lot of us live our lives day to day. I can’t count the number of times my prayers have turned into “Jesus just give me this one thing…then ill finish what you have laid out for me….”, “God just please bless this time this way and then ill do what You want me to…”, “Jesus just please answer my prayers, then ill be happy…”, “lord just give me this one thing, then ill concentrate on the things that honor You.”

How many times have I walked with God, pointed at something I wanted, and begged Him to give it to me right then and there? Too many.

Profe Elie knew that it would be better, safer, and more beneficial for little Sebastian to focus on school than to play with his frog each day while running around the class. Because Sebastian is young, and that frog is his distraction, he didn’t realize that what Profe Elie was doing was for his benefit.

And when I was remembering these sweet, crazy moments, I couldn’t help but to think how young I am in my life and my faith, and how I shouldn’t be begging God to hurry up with giving me the things I want/need. Just like Sebastian would patiently wait for his toy each day, it is my job as a Daughter of the King to wait patiently, and to know that His timing is perfect and real and safe and right. It is everything I need, when I need it. And when my heart becomes centered on that, then it becomes everything I want, exactly when I want it. (Crazy how He does that…)

I do not have to be fooled, tempted or pulled away by distractions. But just have to release control, and know I am in the safest Hands.
Jesus is patiently walking along side me, holding my hand and telling my heart to calm down. To wait. To listen. To be led. To bow down. To give everything. To surrender.
To fully be His.

This is what fulfilled life looks like. Joyful life. Surrendering with unclenched fists. Knowing that everything in my life will happen when it’s supposed to, when it’s meant to, when it’s safe for me and my heart.

Isn’t it great how life’s lessons come in the tiniest green, stuffed frog packages, held by the hands of Gods perfect creation?

Thankful today for a baby boy blessed with Down syndrome, who showed me patience and joy and laughter and good timing, Sebastian- I hope you know how loved you are. 20130622-181912.jpg

2 thoughts on “Sebastian’s frog.

  1. Dear Piper,

    As I read your letters, i am blesssed in so many ways. This story touched my heart to no end. Please keep sharing your life lessons with us because we all need to learn them!!!!! God is a big God but it is in all the small things that we learn so much if we don’t stop, seek and listen. Patience seems to be the hardest thing that us humans have trouble with!!!! I love you and can’t wait to hear more. Aunt Bonnie

  2. I love this. Thank you for sharing your heart with the people of Peru and those here stateside. It is a blessing to read these special moments…

Leave a comment